Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Chain Question

Littering and........

Chain Question

I am trying to swap the chain on my DRZ; I had a chain for dirt use, and one for street use.

This is my first endeavor into fucking around with chains. It sucks.

The problem I am having is that my master link seems to be too wide for the rest of the chain? I can't get the clip to slide on properly, and if I squeeze it on there too tightly, the link binds up.

Is there a lot of difference in chains, or are they pretty universal? The master link doesn't seem to be very much wider, if at all, but it makes a click when it goes through the front sprocket housing.

Any advice would be great appreciated.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Littering and........

Chain Question

Easy, not all at once.

So...I got a new master link clip at the hardware store, and went for a little ride. I was pretty psyched, because I just installed a new exhaust, rear spring, and did a little airbox modification, and I wanted to see how the bike rode.

I rode over to a friend's house who immediately noticed that the master link was creating a big kink in the chain. We tried to fix it, but the damn link wouldn't come out, so we put it back and I rode the bike home.

The goddamn motherfucking cocksucking sonofawhore master link WILL not come out of the chain. I have successfully ruined this chain trying to get it out.

I now have to find a new chain, get the old one off (bolt cutters ), learn how to put one on (since I am told it requires cutting some links out of the chain), and safety wire and otherwise prep my bike to leave for VIR on Friday. Oh yes, and I have to fit in a 40+ hour week this week as well.

Chain Question

LOL lots of different size chians Chris. Sounds like your finding that out.

www.bostonmoto.com

Forum Rules