Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

MSF Experince Rider Course taken 2 Up.

MSF Experince Rider Course taken 2 Up.

Priscilla and I took the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Experienced Rider Course 2 up last weekend. I am an instructor, so I have ridden all the exercises many times.

It was really interesting to take the class 2 up. The ERC has quite a bit of slow maneuvering, both as exercises and simply inching around in "traffic" cueing up for exercises. For those familiar with "the box" it was actually challenging again. It was really cool working with her to make it work. We took the class on a 2001 SV650, with such a light bike body weight has a big effect. We could really see the difference technique makes.

The more "high speed" maneuvers were fun too. Because the range where exercises are conducted is necessarily small I could at times see Priscilla's helmet as I was setting up 180 degree corners. She really had to make a pretty pronounced head turn to make everything work smoothly.

We had the bike banked pretty steeply at times and the repeating nature of the exercises we had time to experiment with what works for us in cornering. This isn't something we normally do when just "out for a ride".

It was an interesting, if hot, day. I'd never really considered the Experienced Rider Course really all that great for truly experienced riders. Still, I am often surprised to find someone riding for 50 years that doesn't understand counter steering. I used to take it as a spring refresher before heading out on the road, and it's great for that. It kept me from reinforcing bad habits.