Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

View Poll Results: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

Voters
34. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    31 91.18%
  • No

    3 8.82%
  • Sometimes

    0 0%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 60

Do you use frame sliders at the track?

  1. #1
    Lifer Tekime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Falmouth, ME
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,336

    Question Do you use frame sliders at the track?


    Any other thoughts on the subject please share

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    05GSXR75005SV65090DR350

  2. #2
    Day late, dollar short carsick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,997

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Yep. My SVs use an aluminum clamp around the frame to hold the slider. I've twisted the clamp and stretched a few bolts that hold the slider itself, but no damage to the frame, radiator, or engine cases. Some designs are very long and/or mount to an engine bolt or frame bracket, causing breakage in a crash. Some also maintain that they can dig in and flip the bike while sliding. This for your 750?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    99 + 02 SV650 ex-race - 91 FJ1200 street - 03 KDX220R woods - 12 WR450F motard/ice

  3. #3
    Lifer Tekime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Falmouth, ME
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,336

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Yeah. I've got sliders now but thought about removing because of the "it might flip and annihilate the bike" thing.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    05GSXR75005SV65090DR350

  4. #4
    Back marker... jwm2k3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Salem, MA
    Age
    48
    Posts
    5,272

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Yes, cuz I crash.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Johnny

    Its an Italian bike...Ive had (have?) a few

  5. #5
    Lifer isaac_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Central CT
    Posts
    1,082

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    I wonder if on an inline 4 where the motor is so wide whether it makes sense to just run case savers.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Isaac LRRS/CCS #871 ECK Racing | Spears Enterprises | GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Woodcraft | Street & Competition | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media
    Bike: SV650, Bride of Frankenstein

  6. #6
    Bizarro Zoolander Petorius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Why am I still here?
    Posts
    2,035

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tekime View Post
    Yeah. I've got sliders now but thought about removing because of the "it might flip and annihilate the bike" thing.
    In my experience, the mounting bolts bend/mating surface deforms before any flipping occurs.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Lifer Imbeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Southwick,MA
    Posts
    2,365

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Yes, wouldn't wanna track without em

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    go faster cdovego's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Weymouth
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,159

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Sv's yes, r6 no.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Central Mass Powersports #123

    1000rr, zx10r, rmz450, RE classic, r6, S4Rs, xr123, sv650(2), cr250 and a box truck that leaks power steering fluid.

  9. #9
    Lifer NPDCPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North of Boston, Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,276

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    I have put my SV down in a few places with through-the-engine-bolt sliders. No flipping, no bent engine bolt. Between the frame slider, bar end and swingarm slider triangle, there were few if any parts aside from foot pegs to replace. Dump the gravel out of the belly pan and jump back on for the next session.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Lifer union's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Blackstone, MA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    4,567

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    I ran woodcraft sliders on my r6 with 0 issues. That poor bike saw its fair share of crashes.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    James
    12 KTM SMR 450
    07 CRF 250R
    LRRS/CCS #79
    NEMM #79

    GMD Computrack
    Diamondback Designs
    Robs Dyno

  11. #11
    Soul Rider Paul_E_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    western, MA
    Age
    50
    Posts
    14,453

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Ironically, my new R6 is the first bike I've owned with sliders. Woodcraft. Glad to here people have had good results.
    Quote Originally Posted by cdovego View Post
    Sv's yes, r6 no.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Paul_E_D


  12. #12
    Burns retinas nhbubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seacoast NH
    Posts
    17,120

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Both my SVs have Woodcraft sliders. I beat the everlovingpiss out of them. I had one of the mounting bolts bend at about a 45. I was able to straighten it, chase the threads and reuse. then I tossed the bike off the backside of T9. They worked that time too.

    New SV got them in my very next woodcraft order.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Lifer golden chicken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Fitchburg, MA
    Posts
    1,565

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Haven't crashed the SV with sliders, but it's been knocked over and dropped several times and each time has only broken a mirror.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What's the difference between a bolt and a screw?
    First you screw, then you bolt.

  14. #14
    Lifer Chippertheripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    the fairest of havens
    Age
    41
    Posts
    14,024

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    I aspire to not use them, but yes, I've used sliders at the track.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Cliff's Cycles KTM
    NETRA enduro B-vet
    Close your eyes, look deep in your soul, step outside yourself and let your mind go.

  15. #15
    Senior Member MHenry600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Concord NH
    Age
    32
    Posts
    565

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    I only do a track day a couple times a year if I'm lucky, but I've never installed them. I've had two tip-overs (one each side), and I don't think it would have caught, flipped or anything in either case if I did have them. I figure they might have saved some of the rash in places, but neither situation was that bad to begin with.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Your Father csmutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pomfret Center, CT
    Age
    29
    Posts
    10,953

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Yup. Don't have them on my current bike right now, but had them on my R6 with good results.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

  17. #17
    Soul Rider Paul_E_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    western, MA
    Age
    50
    Posts
    14,453

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    What is your current bike? You've been shuffling the deck a lot.

    Quote Originally Posted by csmutty View Post
    Yup. Don't have them on my current bike right now, but had them on my R6 with good results.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Paul_E_D


  18. #18
    Burns retinas nhbubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seacoast NH
    Posts
    17,120

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    I don't think woodcraft has sliders for his current ride.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  19. #19
    Lifer Chippertheripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    the fairest of havens
    Age
    41
    Posts
    14,024

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by nhbubba View Post
    I don't think woodcraft has sliders for his current ride.
    not THAT one.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Cliff's Cycles KTM
    NETRA enduro B-vet
    Close your eyes, look deep in your soul, step outside yourself and let your mind go.

  20. #20
    Lifer Imbeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Southwick,MA
    Posts
    2,365

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_E_D View Post
    What is your current bike? You've been shuffling the deck a lot.
    Smutty must be rockin that katana 750 I traded him a while back...and I'm sure he could smoke me on that, too (LOL)

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  21. #21
    Lifer Tekime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Falmouth, ME
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,336

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Awesome. I'm keeping 'em!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    05GSXR75005SV65090DR350

  22. #22
    Your Father csmutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pomfret Center, CT
    Age
    29
    Posts
    10,953

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_E_D View Post
    What is your current bike? You've been shuffling the deck a lot.
    05 zx636. Same as last year haha.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Imbeek View Post
    Smutty must be rockin that katana 750 I traded him a while back...and I'm sure he could smoke me on that, too (LOL)
    I really need to get that thing going and sell it or register it or do fucking something with it!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

  23. #23

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by isaac_ View Post
    I wonder if on an inline 4 where the motor is so wide whether it makes sense to just run case savers.
    For racing you actually have to. It's not optional

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  24. #24
    Your Father csmutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Pomfret Center, CT
    Age
    29
    Posts
    10,953

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by tsorfas View Post
    For racing you actually have to. It's not optional
    He means running only case savers instead of running case savers and frame sliders I think?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Christian LRRS/CCS HasBeen ECK Racing
    2011 Pit Bike Race CHAMPION!

  25. #25
    ^ It's my bike and my car tls25rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Haverhill, MA
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,327

    Re: Do you use frame sliders at the track?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_E_D View Post
    Ironically, my new R6 is the first bike I've owned with sliders.
    Do the R6s still have issues with the tanks becoming a problem if the tank sliders are not used?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •