Welcome to NESR! Most features of this site require registration, including replying to threads, sending private messages, starting new threads, and uploading files. Click here to register.

Results 1 to 25 of 25

Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

  1. #1
    Bikeless in Blackstone The Snowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12,538

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    I did a search on Fastlane, but couldn't find the answer to this specific topic...

    I use my car's Fastlane when on my bike, since you can register your bike on the same one right on the Fastlane web site.

    I was wondering if anyone's ever attached it to a tinted windscreen (mine's smoke gray) and had it work properly. I know that they tell you to attach it below a car's tinted strip. I've had a twitchy one not work properly when it's above the strip.

    Has anyoen ahd experience with this? Does it work properly? I'm tired of pulling it out of the tank bag and risk dropping it. It's $29 and change to replace it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    CCS/LRRS Expert#39, retired | Tony's Track Days, Instructor #11, retired
    |

  2. #2
    Lifer mycirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Whitinsville, MA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,617

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    It should work, its a radio wave that maked it work. Doesnt work through some polorized windshields cause it blocks RF signals. You should be fine, plus when you register they have your plate so you dont get fine if it doesnt go off.

    Bruce

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Bikeless in Blackstone The Snowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12,538

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Yeah, but the last thing I want to do is have to pick through my monthly bill to make sure that I was charged correctly.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    CCS/LRRS Expert#39, retired | Tony's Track Days, Instructor #11, retired
    |

  4. #4
    Super Moderator OreoGaborio's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    38,176

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    .... so roll up to the toll booth, take it out by hand just before you get to it, hold it under the screen & see if it picks it up... if not, take it out from under the windscreen & see if it picks it up

    and I don't even have fastlane... who ever said i was dumb?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    -Pete LRRS/CCS #81 - ECK Racing, TonysTrackDays
    GMD Computrack Boston | Pine Motorparts/PBE Specialists | Phoenix Graphics | Woodcraft | MTag-Pirelli | OnTrack Media

    The Garage: '03 Tuono | '06 SV650

  5. #5
    First name on the shit list.... SVRACER01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Farmington
    Age
    44
    Posts
    16,969

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Originally posted by 97BladeRider
    Yeah, but the last thing I want to do is have to pick through my monthly bill to make sure that I was charged correctly.
    charged correctly? isnt it the same price for a bike as a car? (it is in NH) i just throw my EZpass in the trunk of my bike and it works fine (most of the time)

    when i asked the EZ pass people where to put it on my bike they told me to put it on the FRONT license plate OK.. ill get right on that.
    IMO... they didnt bother to think through motorcycle use of these things... then i dont even care if it works. as long as the plate on the you rides is registered with the company then who cares

    oh and before i put it in the trunk it used to be the map portion of my tank bag and it worked there too. my dads is in his saddlebags and it works....

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When I start my KTM in the morning, rules are broken. Its inevitable...
    01 SV650S (RC51 eater)/07 690SM /03 300EXC/14 XTZ1200
    TRACKS:Firebird/NHMS/VIR/Calabogie/California Speedway/NJMP/MMC/NYST/Palmer/Thompson/Club Motorsports

  6. #6
    Member throttlejunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville
    Age
    41
    Posts
    106

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    I have mine mounted just above my gauges on my GSXR. I have a dark smoked Double bouble and it works fine. The worst that has happend it says "call Fastlane".

    Although I got a ticket in the mail last week saying I ran the Fastlane w/o a transponder in my car. F8cking thing never read!

    250.00 For improper use of Fast Lane
    50.00 for endangerment



    Fast Lane didn't send me the ticket, East Boston did. so now I have to go to court to fight it. Assholes!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Lifer Currently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ooltewah, TN
    Age
    65
    Posts
    1,899

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    The orientation is important.

    It will not work if it is upside down.
    I got mine in the tankbag map window and when I approach,
    I push the bag forward a bit so it is tilted more upright and it
    hooks in every time.

    Last time I went riding with Liononaleash, the damn thing was
    upside down and didn't work. They take a picture of your plate
    number and if it is listed, you should not get banged on it.

    Tint don't matter, it is the instant defrost windshilds with metal
    in them that interfere with the RFID transponder tag.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Bikeless in Blackstone The Snowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12,538

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Originally posted by SVRACER01
    charged correctly? isnt it the same price for a bike as a car? (it is in NH) i just throw my EZpass in the trunk of my bike and it works fine (most of the time)
    Well, if they can't determine where you got on, for example, they'll charge you the full toll from end to end. (and when they get too lazy to investigate where you got on or off.) It's happened to me a couple of times. that's why I get the monthly statements.

    Well, I used mine this morning under the tinted windscreen and it worked just fine. Too bad the transponder doesn't follow the contour of the screen though. The stuff they give you to stick the Fastlane to the wondshield wasn't designed to go on curved plastic. I'll have to keep a stash of it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    CCS/LRRS Expert#39, retired | Tony's Track Days, Instructor #11, retired
    |

  9. #9
    Lifer LuvDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Ashland, MA
    Age
    52
    Posts
    2,974

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    I got the "Call Fastlane" light a few times.

    The battery in my transponder was dead... so I had to get a new one.

    I took my previous statement in with all the "violations" and went through them line by line with them and got the extra charges dropped.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2003 ZX7R
    1995 916

  10. #10
    Bikeless in Blackstone The Snowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12,538

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    They're pretty good about that. The same happened to me about a year ago.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    CCS/LRRS Expert#39, retired | Tony's Track Days, Instructor #11, retired
    |

  11. #11
    Member cbrf41999's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Nashua, NH
    Age
    46
    Posts
    341

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    MY NH one works fine in my tank bag in the clear pocket. My biggest problem is forgetting to switch from my work to personal on weekends. Or having them both on my front seat and charging work and home at the same time.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Just Registered Wishbone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Worcester
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,675

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    i use it on my fz1 with double bouble dark tint and never had a problem, when i asked the fast lane people where it had to be they said i could put it in my jacket, but it didnt work, and i dont get chared if i forget to put the fast pass on but maybe its cause my plate is on my swing arm or as the cops seem to wright it "improper display of plate"

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ~ Life passes most people by while they're busy making grand plans for it.~

  13. #13
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,127,223

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    I just put mine in my tankbag. Sometimes it works without me fuckin' with it, sometimes not. Fuggit. What are they gonna do?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    westboro, ma
    Age
    46
    Posts
    194

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Works fine mounted on my dark smoke db screen. The problem with it not reading is that they will charge you from the first toll on the pike which is the most $$$. Then you have to take time out of your day to have them fix it. Antways, you should have no issue with the transponder mounted behind the dark screen.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    I feel it in my Nuggets CitizenFrye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    RI
    Age
    57
    Posts
    353

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    If the window tint is mylar it will block the signal.. When I got mine from NH they included 2 mylar bags.. So if I have the bike in the back of the truck I put the bikes in the bag so I don't get charged for both when I go under the sensor.. that is probably why you get the problems when it's behind the tint.. your windscreen if it's just plastic should work ok....

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    <h5 style="color:ccc"><i>Put the Fun Between your Legs</i></h5>
    <h5 style="color:ccc"><i> CBR1000RR </i></h5>

  16. #16
    Lifer Currently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ooltewah, TN
    Age
    65
    Posts
    1,899

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Originally posted by Stoneman
    I just put mine in my tankbag. Sometimes it works without me fuckin' with it, sometimes not. Fuggit. What are they gonna do?
    As I mentioned earlier ... you have to orient it so that it is in the same position it would be on a windshieild.

    I went to complain and they tested it and told me nothing was wrong with it. It is designed to operate in one position only.

    Since I have been more aware of this, it never failed after that.
    I stick it in the tank bag and when I get to a toll station, I take my hand and gently push the back of the bag a little bit to give a bit more angle to the EZPass and it hooks in every time now!

    As for not caring ... when you lose a half days work going to the EZPass office disputing charges and finding out it is just because you can't follow directions ...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,127,223

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Originally posted by Currently
    As I mentioned earlier ... you have to orient it so that it is in the same position it would be on a windshieild.

    I went to complain and they tested it and told me nothing was wrong with it. It is designed to operate in one position only.

    Since I have been more aware of this, it never failed after that.
    I stick it in the tank bag and when I get to a toll station, I take my hand and gently push the back of the bag a little bit to give a bit more angle to the EZPass and it hooks in every time now!

    As for not caring ... when you lose a half days work going to the EZPass office disputing charges and finding out it is just because you can't follow directions ...
    One shouldn't assume. You...well, you know...

    I DO indeed carry it in my tankbag oriented as such...

    I DO indeed try to give 'er a little 'push'...

    I don't 'lose' a half day's work. I gain a half day's vacation. Take a vacation day, spend half at the EZPass outpost. Get the resta the day off. It all works out well!

    Honestly, I have yet to see unwarranted charges on my EZPass account. But if it were a mere few dollars, I wouldn't bother wasting my time fighting 'em...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  18. #18
    Bikeless in Blackstone The Snowman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12,538

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    When I have disputed charges with the MA Turnpike Authority, I just call them, I don't have to go there.

    Maybe it's time to convert from EZPass to Fastlane. (And no monthly charges either. Just the original transponder fee.)

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    CCS/LRRS Expert#39, retired | Tony's Track Days, Instructor #11, retired
    |

  19. #19
    Kosher Assassin Stoneman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Center Barnstead, NH
    Posts
    1,127,223

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Originally posted by 97BladeRider
    Maybe it's time to convert from EZPass to Fastlane. (And no monthly charges either. Just the original transponder fee.)
    I don't get charged no stinkin' monthly charges! Five bucks for a transponder, then toll fees...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did you grit your teeth and try to look like Clint Fuckin' Eastwood?
    Or did you lisp it all hangfisted like a fuckin' flower?

  20. #20
    Lifer BostonSVkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    North Reading (also known as the North Pole)
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,128

    Stoopid

    Fastlane now charges you $1 for every time they have to run your plate when it doesnt pick up your transponder. Got taht jewel directly from Fastlane when I asked the why my pass wasnt getting picked up. I just hold it up when I drive through now. Catches it everytime.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    2006 Ducati Monster S2R800

  21. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Allston
    Age
    46
    Posts
    9

    Handlebar Mount

    I found this cool E-ZPass mount. Its called a JJCYCLEPASS. I just ordered the other day. I haven't received it yet, but it looks promising.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by jimmyflyn475; 11-17-07 at 11:45 PM. Reason: correcting formatting error

  22. #22
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Allston
    Age
    46
    Posts
    9

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    You can get free E-ZPass transponders with no monthly fees from the Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission, the Maryland DOT, and the Peace Bridge Authority of New York and Ontario.

    The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission charges an account maintenance fee of $3.00 once a year, however their transponders are free and they don't charge any other fees.


    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneman View Post
    I don't get charged no stinkin' monthly charges! Five bucks for a transponder, then toll fees...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by jimmyflyn475; 11-17-07 at 11:59 PM. Reason: correcting spelling error

  23. #23
    Member tWeEzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Burlington, MA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    188

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Good looking out. I've been wanting to get one but didnt want to pay the stupid transponder fee since i'd rarely use it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  24. #24
    Member Edwardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    100

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    Yup, got my EZpass tags (two of them) for nothing from NJ. No fees except tolls and no bogus charge for it going off the plate number. I don't even carry a tag in my bike anymore because the bike rarely trips the sensor for it to take a reading.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  25. #25
    Perpetual Amateur CEO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    7,123

    Using Fastlane w/ tinted windscreens

    I don't have my puig DB screen anymore, but when I did, I mounted my fastlane to that and it worked perfectly.

    Because the screen is curved, on the transponder I lifted up the inside half of each of the velcro bits and shoved some double sided tape in there until the velcro bits were at the right angles. Worked like a charm. When I parked the bike I just pulled it off and threw it in my jacket.

    Since I went down at the track and shattered that screen, I haven't had a chance to remount it to my current one. I will, though.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Zip-Tie Alley Racing
    LRRS/CCS #103
    PPS | Dunlop | Boston Moto | Woodcraft & Armour Bodies | 35 Motorsports | Pit Bull | K&N

Similar Threads

  1. ebay tinted windsheild?
    By zzrrider in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-26-12, 09:26 AM
  2. Tinted visor?
    By mzdagrl in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-23-05, 03:07 PM
  3. Fastlane?
    By Matt K in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-27-03, 10:41 AM
  4. windscreens
    By benVFR in forum General Bike Related
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-02, 04:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •